Study of the yield of D-D, D-

Marina Barbui, Woosuk Bang, Aldo Bonasera, Kris Hagel, Katarzyna Schmidt, Joseph Natowitz, Gianluca Giuliani, Matteo Barbarino, Gilliss Dyer, Hernan Quevedo, Erhard Gaul, Ted Borger, Aaron Bernstein, Mikael Martinez, Michael Donovan, Todd Ditmire, Sachie Kimura, Marco Mazzocco, Fabrizio Consoli, Riccardo De AngelisPierluigi Andreoli

Research output: Contribution to conferencePaper

5 Citations (Scopus)


The interaction of intense ultrafast laser pulses with molecular clusters produces a Coulomb explosion of the clusters. In this process, the positive ions from the clusters might gain enough kinetic energy to drive nuclear reactions. An experiment to measure the yield of D-D and D-3He fusion reactions was performed at University of Texas Center for High Intensity Laser Science. Laser pulses of energy ranging from 100 to 180 J and duration 150fs were delivered by the Petawatt laser. The temperature of the energetic deuterium ions was measured using a Faraday cup, whereas the yields of the D-D reactions were measured by detecting the characteristic 2.45 MeV neutrons and 3.02 MeV protons. In order to allow the simultaneous measurement of3He(D,p)4He and D-D reactions, different concentrations of D2 and3He or CD4 and3He were mixed in the gas jet target. The 2.45 MeV neutrons from the D(D,n)3He reaction were detecteded as well as the 14.7 MeV protons from the3He(D,p)4He reaction. The preliminary results will be shown.
Original languageEnglish
Publication statusPublished - 2013
Externally publishedYes
Event11th International Conference on Nucleus-Nucleus Collisions, NN 2012 - , United States
Duration: 1 Jan 2013 → …


Conference11th International Conference on Nucleus-Nucleus Collisions, NN 2012
CountryUnited States
Period1/1/13 → …


All Science Journal Classification (ASJC) codes

  • Physics and Astronomy(all)

Cite this

Barbui, M., Bang, W., Bonasera, A., Hagel, K., Schmidt, K., Natowitz, J., ... Andreoli, P. (2013). Study of the yield of D-D, D-. Paper presented at 11th International Conference on Nucleus-Nucleus Collisions, NN 2012, United States.